Thrifty Thursday: Let’s Go SLEDDING! (And Other Fabulous Flea Market Finds)

This past weekend was a GOLD MINE for me as far as thrifting goes. I had incredible luck and a ton of fun scooping up the great deals for both my house and 4 Sisters Peoria.

Saturday morning were the neighborhood wide garage sales in the neighborhood where one of my sisters lives. Three of the 4 of us were in on the garage sale (I dropped my unneeded things at Mission Mart because I really didn’t want to take the time to price things out for a garage sale) so I went early to partake in Panera bagels and sorta help them set up. I then loaded up my nephews and hit some nearby sales. A recreation center a few streets down was having a craft and vendor sale and the first thing I zeroed in on was this incredible wooden sled. I couldn’t quite see the price so I stepped closer and saw the tag. $5! MINE! I quickly pulled out a $5 bill and bought it from the lady before perusing anything else she had.

SLED

What a deal! And easily the most coveted item I have found to date since two of my sisters offered to buy it from me on the spot for $10, arguing that it was twice what I paid. That’s true, but considering that these sleds go for anywhere between $35-$50 at flea markets and antique shops, I was keeping my bargain for myself. Plus, it’s incredible! Now I just need a house to put it in. (Currently in the market for some new digs.)

On Sunday I went to the 3rd Sunday Market in Bloomington IL with sister 2 and we scored big time!

3rd Sunday Collage

I got ALL of these things and MORE and I spent less than $40 dollars! I’m so excited about my finds, some of them like the colored bird book pages and colorful yard sticks are items I have been seeking out for craft projects for quite some time and some other things, like the daisy pitcher and the “Pear of Sheep” are things that I instantly fell in love with. The daisy pitcher was my favorite find of the day but “Pear of Sheep” kept me giggling. I love a good pun. And it fit in perfectly with my already existing bathroom décor.

I also had a lot of fun haggling. There is something incredibly satisfying about offering a lower price on something and having it be accepted. Makes it feel like even more of a deal. You just have to be careful about what you are buying. The mason jar I bought I loved because of the bigger size of it, but it didn’t have a price marked. I asked the guy how much and he said $8 and I almost put it right back down because I knew that due to the golden harvest logo on the back side of it that it was probably from the 80s or maybe even 90s, not rare or old, but I liked it because it was the right size for a lamp project. The guy came down on his price so that mason jar ended up with me.

Never be afraid to ask for a lower price. The worst that can happen is that they say no. But you might be surprised and end up with one heck of a deal! I am not by any means an expert on this kind of thing, though I am trying to become one, but lately I have been very sensitive to prices and have looked at every thrift store, garage sale and flea market that I have been to in order to get a good idea of what is out there and what people are asking for it. In order to make a business out of this, it’s important to pay attention and do a little research!

And of course, while out thrifting, never forget to bring your furchildren a treat.

rusty cookie

Happy Thrifting!

One thought on “Thrifty Thursday: Let’s Go SLEDDING! (And Other Fabulous Flea Market Finds)

Leave a Reply

