Beyond the Potato Sack Race – Canvas Craft How-To

Alright, I am finally going to show my first craft how-to! This one is super easy, took almost no effort and ended up being very sentimental.

I got these potato sacks for free from a gal at work (never mind the photo bomb…he cameos in almost every picture I take). There are actually 4 all together, the other one had already been cut into.

The two matching ones are going to become curtains, but I decided to do a quick craft out of the potato sack that had already been cut into.

I bought 8 x 8 canvases at JoAnn Fabric’s on sale for $3.49 each (50% off). I laid them over the sack and roughly cut it out leaving a little more than an inch around each canvas.

I then stretched the canvas and using a borrowed staple gun (thanks Amy!) pulled the canvas tight and stapled it into place on the back.


Here is the result!


This is where the sentimental part comes in. I e-mailed the finished product picture to my mom and she asked me what town in Wisconsin this particular potato sack came from. I looked closer at the zip code and realized that it was Plover, Wisconsin – where we lived for almost 3 years while I was growing up! Due to this, the canvas that has the zip code included is going to be staying in my collection and displayed proudly in my kitchen while the other 2 go into the 4 Sisters Peoria booth.

Part of my point of this blog and really just the things I do with my life is to not waste even one scrap if I can help it. I would like to live my life recycling and reusing as much as possible. That being said, I still have a pile of scraps and the whole plain back of that potato sack that has not been used yet. Stay tuned for what the rest of that sack turns into and some of my future crafting projects!

2 thoughts on “Beyond the Potato Sack Race – Canvas Craft How-To

Leave a Reply

