Thrifty Thursday: No Pain No Gain

This past weekend 2 of my sisters and I journeyed to the 3rd Sunday Market in Bloomington, IL. I had my list in hand of items I knew I wanted to look for and I was excited to get to spend yet another day at flea markets, looking at beautiful items and imagining them in my home or imagining other uses for them. If I can someday make this my full time job, I would be blissfully happy.

I had some great successes at the market, bringing home a couple more tins for my collection, a pair of stools to reupholster for my craft room, an awesome new weather vane for display, a wooden silverware divider which is now being used to keep my paints picked up while still looking beautiful, a wooden crate which was a steal at $5 and a bird book which is one of a set of 4 that I am seeking out for my collection.

antique stools june 3rd sunday collage

One of my favorite finds of the day was a dog hook that looked exactly like my baby Rusty! Just look at them:

Rusty hook

But, as the title of this post suggests, there are no gains without a little pain. While perusing one of the outside buildings I was nailed in the side of the head by a table that a woman was irresponsibly carrying with the legs facing out. Her reaction being “oh I knew I was going to do that.” Oh did you? Then why did you carry it that way?!? My sister said I was too nice because all I told the lady was to go away when she wouldn’t stop asking me if I was okay. It did hurt and if I’m being perfectly honest I ended up with a headache for the rest of the day but I wouldn’t have felt any better if I had been nasty to the woman. I’m using this as a reminder to everybody out there to please be aware of your surroundings when in big crowds at flea markets. It’s so great to find a good deal on a piece of furniture, but make sure you are able to securely carry it through a crowd and if you can’t manage it yourself, please get help! I never even saw this lady coming and was not given the opportunity to get out of the way. Don’t risk hurting somebody else by being neglectful.

The other little bit of pain that I experienced was self-inflicted. Sister 2 got a really cool dresser for her sewing room that we had to drive in to the market to get. We finally got it loaded up and it fit in the back perfectly with all of the other items we had purchased when I saw the pair of stools and jumped out of the car to go get a closer look. They were exactly what I had in mind for my craft room and I got the pair for $20 (marked at $25). The guy at the booth was going to help us strap them to the top of my sister’s SUV but she wasn’t keen on that idea so this is what ended up happening:

backseat

Since they were my stools I didn’t mind in the least but by the end of the 45 minute car ride I really needed to stretch…and tinkle.

I’m so excited about these stools though. They were my favorite find. I can’t wait to recover them and show you all how I did it! (I really need to get on some of these projects…plenty of ideas and materials, not enough time!)

Happy Thrifting!

2 thoughts on “Thrifty Thursday: No Pain No Gain

Leave a Reply

