Thrifty Throwback Thursday: DIY Treat Jar

I have been a little preoccupied this week with the new house – painting, packing, etc. – so that hasn’t left me much opportunity for thrifting. Today will be our first Thrifty THROWBACK Thursday because, to steal the hipsters line, I was thrifting before thrifting was cool.

In March I picked up this pretty cool spaghetti jar for $4.99 at Goodwill.

  
On its own, a pretty cool jar but I was specifically looking for an airtight jar to keep Rusty’s treats in. 

So I taped off the area around the writing:

  
I filled the entire area in with black paint to disguise the lettering and then wrote “treats” on it in my own freehand lettering (I’ve been practicing for a long time, I suggest using a stencil if you don’t have a steady hand. 

Voila!

   
 
A really cute container that keeps those flavored milkbones fresh!

Thanks for bearing with me during this crazy hectic week! Soon the real fun begins – recycling and reclaiming my way to a delightfully DIY house!

Happy Thrifting! 

Leave a Reply

