Thrifty Thursday #15: Whirlwind of Thrift Stores

So you might notice from the title that I switched things up a bit. I am finding myself referencing back to Thrifty Thursday posts in some of my DIY step-by-steps and while I love coming up with creative titles, the hyperlinks get a little cumbersome. Therefore, I am going to start numbering the posts in addition to titling them so I can better show off what I do with some of those awesome finds! I can hardly believe that I’ve been doing this blog for 15 weeks!

This past week I hit up thrift stores like it’s my job (oh wait…). I’m making up for the fact that I’m going to an out of town wedding this weekend and won’t be going to any sales. This way I have enough posts for the next couple of weeks, and considering my massive haul, I am at no loss for content!

Saturday after work I did go to an antique show and sale with my mom. It was fun to look around at all of the antiques and see what they were priced for. Most things were WAY out of my price range but I consider it good research. I did make two purchases while I was there. The first was a mason jar (imagine that!) I had never seen one with “Mason” written in script on it. It was a unique addition to my collection whether it has any value or not so I parted with the $6 for it based purely on the fact that I have seen hundreds and hundreds of mason jars and never came up with this logo.

 
I also came across this picture that I think is going to look stunning either over my long sofa or my buffet in my living room. I paid $35 for it, but, once again, since I am buying just for me my price tolerance is quite different. This picture makes me happy. My dad is helping me to fix the back of it since it was so old and the cardboard was no longer holding the picture in like it was supposed to.

 
On Monday after work I had a little extra time so I decided I wanted to go to Mission Mart since I hadn’t been there in so long. Boy am I glad I did! I had such great luck at the first one that I traveled across town to go to the other one as well.

  

I got everything pictured here for $31! Yellow tags were 50% off so the majority of the frames pictured here only cost me $0.50 each and if they weren’t marked down they were only $0.99. I always pick up good wood frames like this to paint for my projects so finding so many – and some in interesting sizes – was a gold mine! I picked up 15 frames!

The 6 Courier & Ives prints I got for $0.39 each. The pictures were sweet and I might end up framing them and doing some sort of display in my house. One of them is a double so I plan to frame it and put it in the booth. These used to be pretty collectible where people would seek out specific prints and I feel in the right frame that these could make a sweet addition to any home décor.

The little ball mason jars were only $.25 each and will be perfect for some of the crafting ideas that I have in mind. Nestled in with those is an Atlas Strong Shoulder jar. The glass is bubbled which indicates to me that it is older. I don’t know much about Atlas jars yet having just acquired my first one on August 2nd but this little gem is definitely staying in my collection and not being crafted with.

  
I always pick up cross-stitch fabric when I find it cheap so when I found multiple bags for $.49 each that was a no brainer. It’s always a bonus when it’s colored because then I have options with certain stitching projects. I also found an illustrated copy of Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm (this is who I thought I was growing up…) for $0.99 so I had to have that for my library as well!

 
I found two Mason Jars already painted for winter for $0.99 each which is a quick and easy flip for the booth. The wood stick that says “VEG.” I’m not really sure what it was intended to be but it’s wood which therefore makes it paint-able. I’m going to turn it into some sort of garden or pumpkin patch sign.

The rooster frame stood out to me. He was 50% off making him $0.50 so I don’t know if I am going to leave him as is and add him to my own kitchen or paint him a different color and put him in the booth. I think he will look really neat with a small cross-stitch sampler in his frame. The strawberry tin was a bit of a splurge ($1.99) but I wanted it for my own house. I have a thing for tins (see Thrifty Thursday: A Morning on Moss Avenue and Thrifty Thursday: No Pain No Gain) and the colors and design on this one were just great. And finally I added a little wooden sled that I think I might decoupage an old fashioned Santa picture on for the booth, a wooden cutting board that I’m going to paint stripes on to make it look like a feed sack like I just saw in my most recent Country Living Magazine, a white wooden tray because I love wood trays, and a $2.99 lamp that just needs a painting refresh and might be the right size and scale for my buffet. And if not, well there’s always the booth!

So many items to score on a Monday! And that’s not even the half of my week. I can’t wait to reveal the rest of my great finds next week!

Happy Thrifting!

 

One thought on “Thrifty Thursday #15: Whirlwind of Thrift Stores

Leave a Reply

