The Thrifting Saga Continues + DIY Creepy Halloween Birdhouse

I’m still so far behind in showing all my great finds from my very thrifty week the week of August 10! We covered Monday the 10th at Mission Mart and Tuesday the 11th at Goodwill. Wednesday the 12th I went to the Hope Chest in Pekin, IL. I follow them on Facebook and saw a kitchen table for $19.99 that looked to be PERFECT for my space.

I was right!!

  

Before I was using a table I had gotten off Craigslist for my duplex to use as a game table/desk in my living room. It served its purpose of collecting clutter but I wasn’t really loving how it fit into my new kitchen – a little dark in color and a little awkward in size. This new table is perfect! I admit that part of its appeal is that it reminds me very much of my mom’s kitchen table. That really makes me feel at home in my kitchen to have a table that was a lot like the one that I grew up eating (or refusing to eat) at.

If you look closer at this picture of my new table, you will see it is covered in TREASURES! While at the Hope Chest I browsed around at their other items and once again had fantastic luck. I only spend $30 – table included for this haul!  

I found the lamp pictured for just $1.99 – I’m starting to really love picking up inexpensive lamps with great shapes. I can’t wait to fix them up for use either in my house or to sell in the booth. I found some more wood frames – all for $0.50 to $0.99 each. I don’t like to spend more than $1 on frames that I’m going to sand down and paint. I also found a little wooden game board, a birdhouse and two napkin holders – one chicken and one cow. The cow I’m going to keep for myself and repurpose as a way to hold file folders in my eventual craft room/office. The chicken I plan to revamp and sell in the booth.
I also finally found the perfect little bird for my haunted bird cage project and he was only $0.29!
  

A couple of weeks ago I picked up this birdhouse at JoAnn’s on the clearance rack for $3.47. I had the idea that I was going to use it for a Halloween craft.

  

I right away painted it black and then I started the hunt for the perfect bird to go inside. I was so excited to find that little owl and since his eyes were already a creepy orange and red, I painted around them and just turned the rest of him black.

  

I glued him to the bottom using clear tacky glue.
  

I couldn’t help but feel like he still needed something. I originally had wanted to make it look like there were spider webs on the cage and tried to do so by repurposing stuffing that Rusty has ripped out of various toys in the past year and 2 months I’ve had him, but I didn’t like how that looked. I looked through the rest of my craft stash and came across a piece of scrapbook paper that was black with webs on it. I cut out around the webs and decoupaged them onto the bird cage. I love how it turned out!

  

A delightfully creepy, yet still somehow cute Halloween decoration. I put him in the booth the other night when we unveiled all the hard work we’ve done on Fall crafts.

  

Recognize some of my signs? I’m so excited with how well the booth came together. Fall is my all-time favorite season and the recent nice weather we’ve been having, while bad for my blogging career as it’s keeping me mostly outside, has been really great for my overall mood and well-being. Let’s hope it’s here to stay!

Happy Thrifting AND Happy Crafting! 

One thought on “The Thrifting Saga Continues + DIY Creepy Halloween Birdhouse

Leave a Reply

