Behold My Glorious Throne-Room

Finally! I have another room that I can consider DONE. Last night I was on a roll so I finished up the last lingering little projects for my bathroom and now I have another big reveal for you.

Here is the bathroom before –

    

The bright blue color did not look right with the floors at all and that mirror cabinet was gross. 

Unfortunately that is still sitting in my garage until I can unearth it to put it out for the garbage collection. It had so much build up in it that even I couldn’t save it.
Here is my bathroom after –
    

It didn’t come together quite how I thought it would but I’m really pleased with it. Originally I was going to replace the floors but then we realized that it was ceramic tile so I was going to have to live with it. Luckily the color I had painted it (the same requisite gray from my bedroom) actually complemented the floors quite well and the shower curtain I picked had a similar style so I was able to make it work.

  

This mirror I had over my sofa in my duplex and I was ecstatic that it fit in the space above the sink in this bathroom. It works perfectly with the shower curtain and since the floor has some dark bluish gray tiles in the pattern, it actually works with the floor too. The light fixture I splurged on and got from Lowe’s. I admit, I can’t do EVERYTHING second hand. Sometimes a girl just wants a nice light in her bathroom and doesn’t want to spend weeks hunting at Restore for it. I love bronze finishes so this was perfect for me.

  

  
This shelf was another non-thrifted splurge from Target. My friend from grade school Staci had posted some pictures of her small house decorating on Facebook and when I saw this shelf, I knew it was the perfect solution for my small bathroom woes and quickly asked her where she got it. The only storage I have in the actual bathroom is a very small cabinet under my sink so this shelf, while nicely styled, offers me some great hidden storage options.

The top shelf is home to a succulent in a $0.99 copper pot that I got from Salvation Army (that post is yet to come this week…) and a bird picture that I got at Gordman’s because 1. It’s a bird and 2. It had ALL the colors of my bathroom including the terra cotta orange of my floors! Sometimes a picture is so perfect I just can’t pass it up. The pitcher is from a small flea market in Washington, IL that unfortunately they have stopped holding due to losing their space. It was marked at $2.50 but I got it for $1.00! It works in the floor colors and hidden inside are all of my bobby pins and hair ties! A perfect hiding place for those eye sores that all women with longer hair deal with in the bathroom.

The second shelf is my favorite. I got the burlap box at JoAnn Fabrics because it was the perfect size to hold my lady products and the burlap added a new texture to my display. It was missing something though so last night I painted on the number 6 as it is seen on many crocks. I chose 6 because I am child number 6 in my family so that has always been my number. I had to free hand this with the paint brush since I couldn’t draw on the burlap with anything else but I would recommend a nice stencil to anybody wanting to recreate this look on their box. You can make your own by printing the image of the 6 (or whatever number you choose!) onto a piece of cardstock and carefully cutting out around the number. The space where the number used to be can serve as your stencil. Just carefully tape it back together and lay it over your surface.

The “Please wait to be seated” sign is an example of my quirky humor. The idea of putting that in my bathroom made me giggle. I wanted the sign to look makeshift but in reality I drew the size of my wood piece onto a sketch pad and carefully made the letters so that I would fill the entire area. I then used a piece of tracing paper to go over what I had in my sketch pad and laid a piece of graphite paper down over my wood piece and traced over my tracing paper design with a stylus. That left the image clear as day on my piece of wood making it much less nerve-wracking for me to take my paint brush to it! The result is a cute and quirky little sign. And the 3 rolls of toilet paper…well, there isn’t room in my cabinet for any so I had to work them into the display. There is nothing worse than sitting on the toilet and discovering you have no toilet paper! This ensures that I am always covered.

So there you have it. A cute little bathroom that I was still able to bring my personality into. It is important to me that every room in my house show a bit of who I am and doesn’t look perfectly pulled out of a magazine. I collect things over time and have diverse tastes. I want that to show, even in the littlest of rooms.

3 thoughts on “Behold My Glorious Throne-Room

Leave a Reply

