Thrifty Thursday #16: The Church Mouse – A Quiet Little Secret

Concluding my thrifting marathon from the week of August 10 (I know, I’m still weeks behind!) was a trip to the Church Mouse on Friday August 14. The Church Mouse is a small thrift store in Peoria, IL. I haven’t gone there much but I am definitely going to be a regular patron from now on! I found so much great stuff and was complimented at the register for my “great eye”. The people working were also getting a kick out of what I told them I was going to do as far as repurposing some of the items.

Now I regret that there are some items missing from the picture as I have already started using a fantastic $1.00 basket on my island as my catch all for keys, etc. and I have started to repaint a cutting board I got there as well so it is missing from my group shot.

  
The most I spent on an item was $5.00 for the solid wood step stool. I was looking for one so I was willing to spend that much for myself (and honestly, for something of this quality, $5.00 was a steal!) Other than that and another couple of $2.00 lamps, everything else I had was a dollar or less. Most of it was $0.25-$0.50!

   
   
The gentleman who worked at the Church Mouse (and so kindly helped me haul my two boxes full of stuff to my car) asked me what the silver cage looking thing is because he had been trying to figure it out and he thought that since I bought it that I would know what it was. I told him I didn’t know what it was but I knew what it was going to be! I plan to spray paint it and put a plant in it. I love looking for things that can be repurposed into interesting planters. He just laughed at me.

I was really excited about the tins that I found – more excellent ones for my craft room in my colors! And a kitty one…just because it looks like Mordecai! Not sure if I’m going to use this or if I’m going to make up a silent auction basket for a shelter event using it and some other cat related items. For 25 cents, it doesn’t really matter!

I found a couple more wood plates/trays. I’m amassing quite the collection of those as well. And a sweet little basket with Christmas trees on it. This one I’m on the fence about whether or not to put in the booth for the holidays or keep for myself. Depends on how the decorating comes along! And of course, I couldn’t pass up more wood frames!

I find that the small thrift shops are the real gold mines. Everybody frequents Goodwill but the little ones don’t get as much traffic so it’s more likely that you will find incredible forgotten items just waiting for you to give new life!

Happy Thrifting!

Leave a Reply

