Reclaimed Redneck Coffee Table

Remember these?
spools
My very first Thrifty Thursday finds from a curb in Pekin, IL. They have sat in 2 different garages now just waiting for the mud and dirt to be cleaned from them so that they can become adorable reclaimed tables.

And here is the finished product! 

 

The blue one ended up being the absolute perfect size to serve as my coffee table and I think it looks really fun! Though I can’t help but remember when I used to listen to Jeff Foxworthy’s “You Might Be A Redneck If…” and he used to describe having a spool in the den as a coffee table. I’m okay with being a little bit redneck though.

Let me tell you how I cleaned this spool up. It was caked with mud and dirt from years of sitting in some guy’s shed so first I took a dry bristle brush to it to knock off as much of the dirt and cobwebs as possible. I didn’t want to hose it off first only to have a big muddy mess. After I knocked as much dirt as possible off THEN I turned the hose on. Sister 3 helped me with this since she was claiming the white spool for her front porch. She aimed a strong jet at the caked on sections on the spools and knocked them all off, and cleaned my driveway while she was at it!

Since her spool was just going on her porch and was going to be an outside spool, she loaded it up as is and is now displaying hers. Since mine was going indoors I still had a little work to do. I took some disinfecting wipes and carefully scrubbed each panel of wood on top bottom and sides in order to remove as much of the built up grime as possible. It ended up looking so great that I didn’t even need to paint it (I was originally going to be painting it blue). After getting it as clean as possible I coated it with polyurethane to protect it from potential spills. I used a matte finish because I didn’t want my rustic reclaimed table looking too shiny.
All that is left now is to stage it with some decor. I shopped my house and this is what I found…
  

So life-like isn’t he? He adds both height and texture to my display. Too bad he doesn’t stay put…

  

I guess I will have to keep looking for other items… I’ve already got a basket to corral my remotes. I feel like it needs something else though.

What do you think of my new coffee table? Any suggestions for types of items to put on it?

9/16/15 addition: I linked up to my very first blog party – so much inspiration in just one place. Check it out! Vintage Inspiration Party #205

7 thoughts on “Reclaimed Redneck Coffee Table

Leave a Reply

