Thrifty Thursday #19: Always a Bridesmaid

I apologize to all of my new followers and regular readers for my silence this week – I took a few days off work and I have been busy busy busy working around my new house. Just check out the progress I made on my garage the other day!
  
 

I now have uncovered all of this wood:

AND I have lined up all of my project furniture!

 

I also have some workspace to work on said furniture so I hope to have some pretty awesome DIYs for all of you very soon

But today, it’s Thursday, so let’s get Thrifty! I’m up to the weekend of August 29 in my thrifting saga (starting to catch up a bit…) That Saturday I was in my good friend Amanda’s wedding and if you want to get thrifty just check out my dress:

 

Perpetually single girl at yet another wedding… 😛

 
This dress is HOMEMADE. It is from a Simplicity Pattern and I bought the fabric online at fabric.com (I mentioned this website in Behind the Curtains as a great resource for hard to find fabrics). The laid back bride told each of us to do shades of blush pink and to have the dresses be long. Pattern and fabric all together this dress cost me less than $40! DIY is just the best. I did however splurge to have my hair and makeup done professionally because those are not my forte. The aftermath was a little hair-raising…

  
The day after the wedding I went to the Expo Gardens Flea Market, a favorite of mine, with my mom and Sister 2. I always have some unique finds at this Flea Market and this day was no exception. I failed at getting a group shot of my treasures and they have long since disappeared in to the abyss (aka my basement) but I did get pictures of my 2 favorite items.
    

The black and white picture is my favorite find of the day. What a sweet depiction of a dog and a bird, two of my favorite things. My mom found some blue mat boards so I am going to frame this picture and find another similar print to hang in my living room as a set. The barnwood cat was also a cute find and I am thinking about starting an animal themed gallery wall in my hallway so I think this will add some cute texture to my displays. Either that or I will put it up in Mordecai’s bedroom. I switched out the ribbon that came around its neck for a piece of blue homespun. 

The rest of my weekend was spent in the best way possible – snuggling with two adorable dogs! I dog sat for some friends whose little girl looked like a mini version of my tank Rusty! I loved watching these fluff tails run around the yard and even moreso loved when they both snuggled in with me for naptime.  


Happy Thrifting!
 

Leave a Reply

