Thrifty Thursday #20: A Little Thrifting to Beat the Heat

Labor Day weekend started off pretty steamy for me, weather wise. I pretty much melted in order to get these deals! I went to a garage sale in Bartonville after work on September 4 and immediately started picking up items. The ladies holding the garage sale said that I had great direction and asked where I sell my repurposed goods (I loved that they insinuated I was a crafter!). I had a great time chatting with them about my booth at Lucy Davis Thrift while picking up a couple of wooden frames, a beautiful bronze frame, a candlestick, a primitive game board, some fabric, random ornaments and craft supplies, and some “junk” pieces that I am collecting for my eventual junk creation.

  
The bronze frame ended up being the perfect frame for my Kuvasz picture that I got off Etsy.

 

I got this picture because my rescue dog Rusty, according to his doggy DNA test, is a Kuvasz-Labrador Retriever mix. This proved very interesting to me because it means that his ancestors were Hungarian guard dogs and my ancestors are Hungarian! It’s clear to me that he was meant to be my dog and he guards me every day while I take a shower (my most vulnerable time, I guess…)

  

I totally see the resemblance, don’t you?

The evening after the garage sale I went to a baseball game with my brother, sister 1 and my nephews. Sometimes it’s nice to just have an evening with family. We laughed and cheered and enjoyed a beautiful fireworks display when all was said and done.

  

The next morning I swung by and picked up Sister 1 to go check out some more garage sales. We went to 4 garage sales and each bought something at every one of them – a first for both of us!

 

I was so excited that the big basket was still there because I had seen it on Craigslist when trolling for garage sales and it was the main reason I wanted to check this particular one out. The crock was another great find for only $3.00 and, if you remember, I incorporated it into my ladder display that I shared with you last Friday (Climbing The Ladder). The house chalkboard has already made it’s way into the booth and the pizza pan for 25 cents is going to get a spray paint makeover so I can display magnets for sale in the booth! I also got the insulators for only 50 cents for both of them so I picked them up to add to the collection I’ve been amassing this summer. Can’t wait to show you what I have in mind for them!


Happy Thrifting!

2 thoughts on “Thrifty Thursday #20: A Little Thrifting to Beat the Heat

Leave a Reply

